A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, December 8, 2016, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Dale Skinner, Secretary-Treasurer, were present: Eugean Garner, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Emile Metoyer, Steven Harris, Thomas Melder, Rhonda Guidroz and Ralph Wilson. Absent members were: Carroll Daniels. The meeting was called to order by President Ralph Wilson, followed by an invocation by Mr. Melder and Pledge of Allegiance Mr. Garner.


At Tuesday’s Committee Meeting, NJH-FRJ students, Ijaella Manuel and Katherine Hughes told the board why their “School is Cool”.  Principal Edwin Mason also updated the board on what was happening at the school.  Superintendent Skinner shared with the board the wonderful accomplishment of the parish, going from a “C” to a “B”.


At Thursday’s Board Meeting, NCHS student, DJ Rabb told the board why his “School is Cool”.  Cenla Rehab Services’ representatives, Chris Mudd and Debbie McDaniel spoke to the board to discuss a possible future partnership with the parish.  Ms. Olson and the NCHS Orchestra provide a Christmas selection. 


On motion of Mr. Danzy, seconded by Mr. Graham, and roll call voting of all members present, the following consent agenda was approved by all members at the meeting:


      1.    Adoption of Agenda.

      2.    Approval of Minutes of November 3; Special Call Minutes of November 17, 2016

      3.    FINANCE ITEMS

                          A.          Payment of Bills:            

                          B.          Out of State Travel:

                                                   1.  Crystal Pierce, teacher, Fairview Alpha.  Travel to Washington, D.C., February 6-12, 2017 to attend NEA Global Fellow Training and NEA Gala Award Ceremony.  The trip is at no cost to the board.

                          C.         School Bus Routes Changes:

D.         Purchase of Buses:

E.          Advertisements:   

                                       1.        Permission to advertise for bids:

F.          Resignations:                
             G.         Retirements:

                          H.         Requests for Leave:

I.           Termination:


The finance report was presented by Mr. Danzy.  There were no bids to take action on. 


The transportation and tax commission reports were presented at Tuesday’s committee meeting.


On motion of Mr. Danzy and seconded by Mr. Hilton, the board unanimously approved the resolution officially declaring the results of the November 8, 2016 election.


Mr. Solomon presented the board with an update on FEMA claims collected from the March 2016 flooding.


On motion of Mr. Danzy, seconded by Mr. Garner, the following votes were cast for approval of distribution of one-time MFP appropriations in the amount of $583 for all certified personnel and $250 for all other support staff: YEAS:  Eugean Garner, Joella Wilson, Russell Danzy, Emile Metoyer, Steven Harris, Thomas Melder, Rhonda Guidroz and Ralph Wilson.


NAYS: None.  ABSTAIN:  Michael Hilton.  ABSENT:  Carroll Daniels.  Motion passed.


The personnel report was presented on Tuesday. 


Mrs. Guidroz presented the Executive Report. On motion of Ms. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Metoyer, the board unanimously approved the 2017 board meeting calendar.  On motion of Mr. Harris, seconded by Mr. Hilton, the board unanimously approved the attorney’s recommendations for the board policy revisions with the exception of the hazardous waste.  On motion of Mrs. Guidroz, seconded by Ms. Wilson, the board unanimously accepted the TIPS Resolution for LSBA meeting on February 9, 2017.


On motion of Ms. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Metoyer, the meeting adjourned at 6:09 p.m.




                                                    DALE SKINNER,   SECRETARY-TREASURER


                                                    RALPH WILSON,   PRESIDENT