A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, January 14, 2016, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Dale Skinner, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Eugean Garner, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Emile Metoyer, Steven Harris, and Thomas Melder. Absent was Altorio Holden. The meeting was called to order by President Ralph Wilson, followed by an invocation by Ms. Wilson and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Hilton. 


At Tuesday’s Committee Meeting, the Superintendent discussed changing the dates for the upcoming meeting with Mr. Steven Siemens due to a scheduling conflict. Mr.  Herbie Way presented the board with a report on the Basic Financial Statements and Independent auditor’s report as of and for the year ending June 30, 2015.


At Thursday’s board meeting, under the Superintendent’s Report, Mrs. Laura McClain, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, presented to the board the 2014-15 District SPS Scores.  The district increased 4.2 points and is now considered a “C” district.  The district also received ten progress points and grew in a seven areas.  Schools with an “A” standing are Natchitoches Magnet, NSU Middle and NSU Elementary.  Schools with a “B” standing are Provencal and Goldonna.  Schools with a “C” standing are Marthaville, East Natchitohces, Cloutierville, Natchitoches Central and Lakeview.  Schools with a “D” standing are L.P. Vaughn, Weaver and Fairview.  There were two failing schools: Parks and Frankie Ray Jackson Technical Center.


Under New Business, the Superintendent opened the floor for nominations for School Board President.  Ms. Wilson nominated Mr. Wilson for President.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Harris.  Mr. Graham made the motion to close nominations for President.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Danzy.  Mr. Ralph Wilson was named President for the 2016 year.  Mr. Daniels was nominated for Vice President by Ms. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Harris.  Mr. Hilton was nominated for Vice President by Mr. Melder and seconded by Mr. Danzy.  Mr. Daniels was elected Vice President with a vote of 6-4.  Voting in favor of Mr. Daniels was: Mr. Daniels, Ms. Wilson, Mr. Wilson, Mr. Graham, Mr. Metoyer, and Mr. Harris.  Voting in favor of Mr. Hilton was:  Mr. Garner, Mr. Danzy, Mr. Melder and Mr. Hilton.  Absent from voting was Mr. Holden.


On motion of Mr. Graham and seconded by the Ms. Wilson, the following Consent Agenda items were unanimously approved by all members present:


 1.        Adoption of Agenda.

 2.      Approval of Minutes of December 3, 2015

 3.        FINANCE ITEMS

            A.         Payment of Bills:

            B.         Out of State Travel:

                        1.         Major Bob Kellogg Senior Aerospace Science Instructor, Lakeview High School, May 23-25, 2016 travel to Fort Worth, TX.  Chaperoning fifty AFJROTC cadets visiting Carswell Joint Readiness Base and DFW Airport.  Trip to be funded by the Air Force JROTC.


            C.         School Bus Routes Changes:

D.         Purchase of Buses:

E.         Advertisements:

            Permission to advertise for bids:

F.         Resignations:

G.        Retirements:

H.         Requests for Leave:

I.          Termination:


Mr. Danzy presented the Finance Report.  There were no bids to receive at this month’s meeting. There were also no new transportation items.  The board did however discuss the board members taking a tour of the transportation routes in March.  Mr. Solomon discussed the tax commission report.  Mr. Solomon stated the year to date was about 1.5% above where the district was for 2014 and that for the fiscal year we were down about 2.1%.


On motion of Mr. Danzy and seconded by Mr. Melder, the board approved accepting the Basic Financial Statements and Independent auditor’s reports as of and for the year ending June 30, 2015 as presented by Mr. Herbie Way.


On motion of Mr. Daniels and seconded by Mr. Hilton, the board approved a resolution exercising the board’s option to re-purchase two separate tracts of land located in Section 2, Township 10 North, range 9 West of Natchitoches Parish, that were sold by the Natchitoches Parish School Board to Allen Recreational Center on August 2, 1983.  The land was sold for $125.35 and would be repurchased for the same amount.  All members present voted in favor of the resolution. Ms. Wilson opposed.  The motion passed.


The Executive Report was presented by Mr. Daniels.  At Tuesday’s Committee meeting, Ms. Cassaundra Cole and Ms. Amy Metoyer shared information concerning the LDOE Allocated Child Care Assistance Pilot Program.


On motion of Mr. Melder and seconded by Mr. Harris, the board agreed to table the discussion of the re-naming of the Alternative School.


On motion of Ms. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Harris, the board entered into Executive Session at 5:35 p.m. 


On motion of Mr. Danzy and seconded by Mr. Harris the Executive session ended at 7:16 p.m.


On motion of Mr. Harris and seconded by Mr. Danzy the meeting adjourned.




                                                DALE SKINNER,   SECRETARY-TREASURER



                                                RALPH WILSON,   PRESIDENT