A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, August 6, 2015, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Dale Skinner, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Eugean Garner, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Emile Metoyer, Steven Harris, Thomas Melder, George Rhymes.  Absent was Michael Hilton.


The meeting was called to order by President George Rhymes, followed by an invocation by Mr. Harris and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Rhymes. 


During the Superintendent’s report, Superintendent Skinner discussed the relationship of the Board and asked members to sign an agreement to send to the Judge showing their willingness to work together and compromise on the issue of naming the Jr. High School.


At Tuesday’s committee meeting, Mrs. Karen Apponey was recognized as the 2014-2015 Bus Driver of the Year.  Mrs. Apponey was presented with several items of appreciation by Mr. Jason Edwards, Transportation Director.


On motion of Mr. Daniels and seconded by the Mr. Wilson, the following Consent Agenda items were unanimously approved:

 1.        Adoption of Agenda.

 2.        Approval of Minutes of July 9, 2015

 3.        FINANCE ITEMS

            A.         Payment of Bills:            

            B.         Out of State Travel:      

            C.         School Bus Routes Changes:

D.         Purchase of Buses:

E.         Advertisements:   

               Permission to advertise for bids:

F.         Resignations:               
            G.         Retirements:

            H.         Requests for Leave:

*1.  Aaron Beaubouef, Sarah Dyson, and Vincent Bahm,

Natchitoches Central High School, travel to Louisville, Kentucky October 26, 2015-November 1, 2015, to supervise students competing in Nation FFA competitions.  Students: (see attached for student’s names).           

            I.          Termination:


Mr. Danzy presented the Finance Report.  On motion of Mr. Danzy and seconded by Mr. Wilson, the board unanimously approved the 2015-2016 Healthy Behaviors School district Grant from the Rapides Foundation in the amount of $23.850.00 for twelve months.  Mr. Solomon presented the board with CEP (Community Eligibility Provision) Monthly Federal Reimbursement Estimator.  On motion of Mr. Wilson and seconded by Ms. Wilson, the board unanimously agreed to entered in the CEP program.


The board received the personnel report.

Mr. Wilson presented the Executive Report.  On motion of Mr. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Harris the board unanimously agreed to add to the agenda to  discuss the document that was prepared and circulated by Superintendent Skinner as it relates to the Jr. High School and the continuation of efforts by the Federal Judge.


Ms. Anita Dubois pointed out the changes that were made to the 2015-2016 Pupil Progression Plan.  The board agreed to defer voting on the item until September.


The board discussed following the Judge’s orders of having a mediator to come and work the board members in the future.


On motion of Mr. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Harris the board unanimously agreed to change the name of the Jr. High to Natchitoches Jr. High-Frankie Ray Jackson.


Mr. Rhymes provided the board with a copy of the policy regarding board members voting.


At 5:56 p.m. it was motioned by Mr. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Danzy that the board go into Executive Session.  On motion of Ms. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Graham the Executive Session ended at 6:16 p.m.


On motion of Ms. Wilson and seconded by Mr. Daniels the meeting was adjourned.



                                                DALE SKINNER,   SECRETARY-TREASURER




                                                GEORGE RHYMES,   PRESIDENT