A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, November 6, 2014, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Dale Skinner, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Donna Masson, Carl Means, Thomas Melder and George Rhymes. 


The meeting was called to order by President Means, followed by an invocation by Mrs. Masson and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Daniels.                                 


Under Superintendent/Staff Reports, Superintendent Skinner spoke on the Board Member election results.  Mr. Skinner also discussed the parish wide test scores for the individual schools and their growth/decline. Also discussed under the Superintendent’s Report was the parish wide busing system.  Ms. Joella Wilson requested that we set up a meeting in the near future to meet with bus drivers and the Transportation department.  It was also requested that the Board receive more information at the next meeting regarding the 9T students in the parish and the Jump Start program.


On motion of Mr. Rhymes, seconded by Mr. Hilton, the Board approved the following consent agenda items:


1.          Adoption of Agenda.

2.        Approval of Minutes of October 9, 2014

3.         FINANCE ITEMS

             A.          Payment of Bills:            

*            B.          Out of State Travel:


                                        1. Kimberly Boyd, FACS Teacher, Natchitoches Central High School, travel to Little Rock Arkansas, November 14-November 16, 2014, to chaperone students Makenzie Morgan, Morgan Howard, Patricia Denny, Isabella Unbehagan, Anna Waxley, Chelsea Mitchell.  At no cost to the Board.


             C.          School Bus Routes Changes:

   D.          Purchase of Buses:

   E.          Advertisements:   

                Permission to advertise for bids:

                           1.  Request for Proposal (RFP) for Category 2 E-Rate equipment and services (wireless, switches, wiring, etc.) (S. Solomon)

   F.          Resignations:                
   G.         Retirements:

             H.          Requests for Leave:

             I.           Termination:


The Board received the Tax Commission Reports. 


The Executive Report was presented to the Board by Mr. Rhymes.


Motioned by Mr. Hilton and seconded by Mr. Rhymes the Board voted on changing the compensation of school board members from the current expense allowance basis to a per diem basis.  The compensation shall be fifty dollars ($50)  per day for every school board meeting with the savings dedicated to an employer paid portion of health care benefits covering as many part time employees of the school system as possible.


Voting in favor of the motion was:  Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Donna Masson, and George Rhymes.  Voting against the motion was:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, and Joella Wilson, harry Graham, Carl Means, Tommy Melder.  The motion failed with a vote of seven to four.


On motion of Mr. Hilton, seconded by Mr. Danzy, the Board adjourned.