HELD ON MAY 9, 2013



A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, May 9, 2013, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Derwood Duke, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Donna Masson, Carl Means, Tommy Melder and George Rhymes.  Absent:  None.


The meeting was called to order by President Means, followed by an invocation by Mrs. Wilson and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Hilton.


Dr. Derwood Duke presented the Board Update.


Mr.Lou Papai, Director of Education, Sci-Port, Shreveport, Louisiana, spoke to the Board regarding an exhibition for fourth graders on Commerce and Conservation of the Waterways.


The Board proclaimed May 6 – 10, 2013 as School Nurses’ Week.


Students of the Year were recognized for 2013.  Elementary School Students:  LaKyra Jones, Cloutierville, Hannah Gandy, East Natchitoches, Emily Windham, Fairview Alpha, Daeja Smith, Parks, Nicholas Wiggins, Goldonna, Brittany Jackson, Vaughn, Carly Adams, Marthaville, Mali Simmons, Natchitoches Magnet, Anna Walker, NSU Elementary and Emily Robertson, Provencal.  Middle School Students:  Hannah Antee, Cloutierville, Kaia Collins, East Natchitoches, Heather Mosley, Fairview Alpha, Dana Holmes, Parks, Kelsey Shoemaker, Goldonna, Lawrence Irchirl, Vaughn, MaKayla Cox, Marthaville, Hannah Giddens, Natcitoches Magnet, Carli Raupp, NSU Middle, and Preston Tibbett, Provencal.  Senior High Students:   Quincie McConathy, Natchitoches Central and Marcus Aaron Babers, Lakeview High School.   Parish winners were Mali Simmons for Elementary School Student of the Year, Hannah Giddens for Middle School Student of the Year and Quincie McConathy for High School Student of the Year.


Teachers of the Year for 2013 were presented and honored.  Elementary School Teachers:  Robin Abel, Goldonna, Carissa Davis, Vaughn, Casey Stewart, NSU Elementary, Melanie Smith,  Weaver and Sheila Simmons, Natchitoches Magnet.  Middle School Teachers:   Jackie Campbell, Goldonna, Wanda Clark, Vaughn, Cammie Khoury, Natchitoches Magnet, Felicia Martin, Frankie Ray Technical, Carol Morgan, Provencal, Andrea Murphy, NSU Middle, Addoree Stuckey, East and Charlotte Turner, Parks.  High School Teachers:  Akilah Givens-Issac, Natchitoches Central and Joshua Hancock, Lakeview High.  Parish winners were Sheila Simmons for Elementary Teacher of the Year, Andrea Murphy for Middle School Teacher of the Year and Akilaah Givens-Issac for High School Teacher of the Year.


Terry Williams, Principal, Marthaville Elem./Jr. High School, was named Parish Principal of the Year for 2013.


Under Old Business, on motion of Mr. Danzy, seconded by Mr. Wilson, and with unanimous consent, the Board adoptedmillage rates for the tax year 2013.       


On motion of Mr. Hilton, seconded by Mr. Graham, and unanimously carried, the Board approved the following consent agenda items:


 1.        Adoption of Agenda.


 2.        Approval of Minutes of April 4, 2013


 3.        FINANCE ITEMS


            A.         Payment of Bills:  


            B.         Out of State Travel:


(1)        Chris Evans and Patrice Harper, teachers, NSU Middle Lab School and Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School, travel to Dallas, Texas on May 15, 2013, to chaperone gifted students to the Dallas Museum of Art.    At no cost to the Board.


(2)        Henry Eric Smith, teacher, Lakeview High School, travel to Louisville, Kentucky, on June 10-17, 2013, to chaperone students Aaron Babers, Gage Whatley, Brandon Powell, Robert Giddings and Carrie Gallien  for out of state forestry practice for national competition.  Paid by FFA (general fund).


            C.         School Bus Routes Changes:


D.         Purchase of Buses:


E.         Advertisements:     Permission to advertise for bids for:


F.         Resignations:

 G.         Retirements:


            H.         Requests for Leave:


            I.          Termination:


Mr. Russell Danzy presented the Finance, Facilities, Services and Insurance Report.



On motion of Mr. Danzy, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board unanimously approved a budget revision for general fund and child nutrition program.


On motion of Mr. Melder, seconded by Mr. Daniels, the Board approved an NSU Facilities Contract to be in effect for 2013-14 through 2017-18.  The Board agrees to remit to NSU an annual usage fee of $15,000.  Billing for said usage fee will be initiated in July of each year with a payment due date of August 1.  Terms of this agreement may be altered upon mutual agreement of all parties. 


Mr. George Rhymes presented the Executive Report.


On motion of Mr. Rhymes, seconded by Mr. Hilton, the Board, with unanimous consent, established a Board Policy Review Committee. 


On motion of Mrs. Masson, seconded by Mr. Daniels, the Board revised the 2013 – 2014 school calendar. 


On motion of Mr. Rhymes, seconded by Mr. Danzy, the Board unanimously approved joining the District Cooperative of Louisiana.  DCL is a system designed to maximize the potential of student learning by incorporating choice amongst a broad breadth of methodologies and learning forums.  


On motion of Mrs. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Rhymes, the Board adjourned.



                                                DERWOOD DUKE, SECRETARY-TREASURER



                                                CARL MEANS,   PRESIDENT