HELD ON MAY 5, 2011



A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, May 5, 2011, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Derwood Duke, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham, Russell Danzy, Michael Hilton, Donna Masson, Carl Means, Thomas Melder and George Rhymes.  Absent:  None.   Mr. Wilson came in late.


The meeting was called to order by President Daniels, followed by an invocation by Mr. Hilton and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Danzy.


Under the Superintendent/ Staff  Reports, the Board recognized:                                  


1.         Students of the Year-Ashlynn Blake-East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School, Brianna Dunn, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, Madeline Fralia, Natchitoches Magnet-Abbie Gandy, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School, Caitlin Hassan, Marthaville Elem./Jr. High School-Rhegan Hymes, Parks Elem./Middle School-Maya Levo, Vaughn Elem./Middle School-Madison  McLaren, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School-MaKenzie Morgan, NSU Elementary Lab School-Shelby Savell, Goldonna Elem./Jr. High School-Kasey Bonner, Parks Elem./Middle School-Hannah Freeman, Marthaville Elem./Jr. High School-Carrie Gallien, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School-Michael Johnson, East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School-Makenna Middlebrooks, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School-Haley Raynes, NSU Middle Lab School- Madison Rowell, Goldonna Elem./Jr. High School-Macie Stultz, Natchitoches Magnet School-Na‚Äôloni Walker, Vaughn Elem./Middle School-Abi Gail Yount, Lakeview High School and Sidney Benjamin Zeichner, Natchitoches Central High School.  Parish winners were MaKenzie Morgan for Elementary Student of the Year, Macie Stultz for Middle Student of the Year and Abi Gail Yount for High School Student of the Year.


2.         Teachers of the Year-Joan Buswell, Lakeview High School-Susan Godfrey, Natchitoches Central High School-Crystalyn Mason-Edwards, Vaughn Elem./Middle School-Katrice LaCour, NSU Middle Lab School-Sarah Rachal, Natchitoches Magnet School-Jerry Wester, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School-Cynthia R. Cole, Natchitoches Magnet School-Peggy Hernandez, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School and Kimberleigh Nagel, Vaughn Elem./Middle School.  Parish winners were Joan Buswell for Senior High School Teacher of the Year, Sarah Rachal for Middle School Teacher of the Year and Cynthia R. Cole for Elementary School Teacher of the Year.


3.         Principal of the Year - Ben LaGrone at NSU Middle Lab School.


4.         Outstanding School Support Personnel-Becky Garner, Goldonna Elem./Jr. High School-Gwendolyn Ratliff, Parks Elem./Middle School and Pamela Brown, Natchitoches Central High School.


5.         S(Cubed) Student Subgroup Support Program at Natchitoches Central High School.


6.         Louisiana Association of School Administrators for Federally Assisted Programs Natchitoches Central High School Scholarship recipient Alexis Turner.


7.         Syll Young-Olson and student participants at the Disney National Music Festival.


8.         Regional Science Fair Participants-Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, Cedric Franklin, Christian Coutee, Brooke Coutee, Kadria Lajaunie, Joseph Bayonne, Jessie Shilling and Troy Cannons-Natchitoches Magnet School, Katelyn Murphy.


9.         Schools with Exemplary Academic School Performance Growth for 2010-Natchitoches Magnet School, East Elementary/Middle School, Marthaville Elementary/Junior High School and Provencal Elementary/Junior High School.


Under new business, on motion of Mr. Danzy, seconded by Mrs. Wilson, the Board adopted the millage rate(s) for the tax year 2011. 


On motion of Mr. Means, seconded by Mr. Graham, the Board unanimously approved the following consent agenda items:


 1.        Adoption of Agenda.


 2.        Approval of Minutes of  April 7, 2011.


 3.        FINANCE ITEMS


A.         Payment of Bills:


B.         Out of State Travel:  


C.         School Bus Routes Changes:


D.         Purchase of Buses:


E.         Advertisements:     Permission to advertise for bids for:


(1)  Liquefied gas service for schools for the 2011-12 school year.

(2)  Waste management services for 2011-12 school year.


F.         Resignations:   


(1)  Marvin Blake, Jr., bus driver position only, Natchitoches Central High School, effective April 18, 2011.


G.         Retirements:


(1)  Ollie Moore, teacher, Natchitoches Central High School, May 28, 2011.


H.         Requests for Leave:    


Mr. Russell Danzy presented the Finance, Facilities, Services and Insurance Report.


The committee received reports on transportation, tax commission and the school board budgets.


Mr. Harry Graham presented the Personnel Report. 


On motion of Mr. Graham, seconded by Mrs. Wilson, and unanimously carried, the Board approved the following personnel:


(1).  Cheryl Hough, special education tutor, Goldonna Elem./Jr. High   School, at $7.50 per hour, not to exceed 35 hours per week, replacing Misty Britt.  Funded by IDEA.

(2).  Princess Hines, special education tutor, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School, at $7.25 per hour, not to exceed 35 hours per week,  replacing Linda Williams.  Funded by IDEA.    

(3).  Scott Davis, athletic director/head football coach, Lakeview High School, effective May 2, 2011.


On motion of Mr. Wilson, seconded by Mrs. Wilson, and with unanimous consent, the Board approved the following personnel agenda items:


A.         The attached "pool of  teachers" from which 4th and 8th Grade LEAP Remediation Summer School teachers will be selected. The program will operate at Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School  and Vaughn Elem./Middle School.


B.         The attached "pool of tutors" from which 4th and 8th Grade LEAP Remediation Summer School tutors will be selected.  The program will operate at Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School and Vaughn Elem./Middle School.


C.         The attached "pool of personnel" from which the ESY/LEAP/NON-LEAP summer school employees for 2011 will be selected.  The program will operate at Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School and Vaughn Elem./Middle School. 


Mr. Carl Means presented the Executive Report.


On motion of Mr. Means, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board approved the following addition to the Natchitoches Parish School Board Student Handbook.


Grades  9-12



On motion of Mr. Means, seconded by Mr. Danzy, the Board unanimously approved changes in dress code policy in Grades 9-12.



On motion of Mr. Danzy, the Board adjourned.