A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday November 5, 2009, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Derwood Duke, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Julia Hildebrand, Millard Bienvenu, Emile Metoyer, Joella Wilson, Harry Graham and Craig Rachal.   Absent:   Ralph Wilson, Billy Benefield, Jr., and Pam McAlexander.


The meeting was called to order by President Joella Wilson, followed by an invocation by Mrs. Hildebrand and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Graham.


Dr. Derwood Duke presented the Board Update.  He welcomed all board members to attend the Veterans’ programs presented at both high schools. 


On motion of Mr. Walker, seconded by Mr. Graham, and unanimously carried, the Board approved the following consent agenda items:          


 1.        Adoption of Agenda.


 2.        Approval of Minutes of October 8, 2009


 3.        FINANCE ITEMS


            A.         Payment of Bills:    


B.         Out of State Travel:   


C.         School Bus Routes Changes:


D.         Purchase of Buses:


            (1)        Connie Matkin


E.         Advertisements:  Permission to advertise for bids:


F.         Resignations:   


(1)        Frances A. Sylvia, teacher, East Natchitoches Elementary School, effective October 16, 2009.

(2)        Terrance Petite, 12 month custodian, Natchitoches Magnet School, effective 10-23-09.


G.         Retirements:


(1)        Susan C. Hargis, teacher, East Natchitoches Elementary School, effective January 8, 2010.

(2)        Gail Culpepper, teacher, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, effective November 5, 2009.

(3)        Kathy Raphiel, secretary, Title I Media Center, effective November 6, 2009.


Mr. Craig Rachal presented the Finance, Facilities, Services and Insurance Report.


On motion of Mr. Metoyer, seconded by Mr. Rachal, the Board approved the following finance items:           


    1.     Authorize Superintendent Duke to execute a grant with The Rapides Foundation in the amount of $85,000 for the Foundation’s Diet and Physical Activity Initiative’s School Implementation Grant.  The term of the grant will be October 15, 2009 through June 15, 2010 to support school-based efforts in 10 K-8 participating schools.  The purpose of the grant is to promote increased opportunities for physical activity and healthy eating for youth in compliance with the District’s Wellness Policy.           


      2.   Submit request for proposal for security camera system at Natchitoches Magnet School.


3.    A  resolution providing for canvassing the returns and declaring the result of the special election held in Consolidated School District No. 6 of the Parish of Natchitoches, Louisiana, on Saturday, October 17, 2009, to authorize the renewal of a special tax therein. 


Mrs. Julia Hildebrand presented the Personnel Report.


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Mr. Metoyer, the Board approved the following personnel agenda items:


            1.         Approval of Personnel:


A.         Jarvis Blinks, teacher, East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School, replacing Francis A. Sylvia.

                        B.         Monte’ Demars, teacher, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School.

                        C.        Joseph Howard, 12 month custodian, Natchitoches Magnet School, replacing Terrance Petite.

D.        Eddie Jackson, Head custodian, Parks Elem./Middle School,replacing Willie Walker.

E.        Tracy Killingworth, kindergarten tutor, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School, at $7.25 per hour, 4 hours per day, 5 days per week.

F.        Melinda Powell, school secretary, Marthaville Elem./Jr. highSchool, replacing Brenda Youngblood.

G.        Angela Spann, school secretary, NSU Elementary Lab School,replacing Shelly Kendrick.

H.        Whitney Washington, kindergarten tutor, L.P. Vaughn Elem./Middle School, replacing Cheri Pikes.

I.         Susan Horn, SAT Chairperson, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School, replacing Regina Pierce.

J.         Cynthia Johnson, teacher, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, replacing Traci Tynes.

K.        Roderick Braden, special education tutor, Weaver Elementary School, at $7.50 per hour, not to exceed 35 hours per week.


          2.        Transfers and/or Reassignments:


A.        Traci Tynes, school coordinator, to replace Gail Culpepper, effective November 2, 2009.


           3.        Renewal of two-year performance contract for the following:


                      A.        Gwendolyn Hardison, Director of Federal Programs, Title I Media Center.

                      B.        Sandy Irchirl, Instructional Coordinator, Weaver Elementary School.


            4.       Other Personnel Items:


A.        Margaret Sarpy, resignation from head softball coach only, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School.


Mr. Carroll Daniels presented the Executive Report.


On motion of Mr. Daniels, seconded by Mr. Graham, and unanimously carried, the Board approved the following change in File: JD on Discipline to read: A student from the classroom shall be assigned school work missed and shall receive full credit for such work if it is completed satisfactorily and timely as determined by the principal or his/her designee, upon the recommendation of the student’s teacher.                           


On motion of Mr. Rachal, the Board adjourned.