A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on Thursday, January 15, 2009, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Elwanda Murphy, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:  Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Julia Hildebrand, Millard Bienvenu, Emile Metoyer, Joella Wilson, Billy Benefield, Harry Graham and Craig Rachal.  Absent:   Pam McAlexander.

Mr. Wilson came in late.


The meeting was called to order by President Hildebrand, followed by an invocation by Mr. Daniels and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Benefield.


Under Superintendent/Staff reports, the Board received:


    1.     The Board Update by Dr. Elwanda Murphy   


    2.     A report on the Coordinated School Health Grant presented by  Lee Posey


The Board recognized:


    1.     Fredda Burns was recognized as Bus Driver of the Year for 2007-2008.   She received a jacket for the honor.


     2.    Regina Pierce was honored for establishing a scholarship at Northwestern State University.


The next order of business on the agenda was the election of officers for 2009.


Dr. Murphy called for nominations for the office of president.


Mr. Metoyer nominated Mrs. Joella Wilson with a second from Mr. Wilson.


With no other nominations from the floor, Mr. Daniels and Mr. Wilson made motions the nominations cease.  Mrs. Wilson was unanimously named president.


Mrs. Wilson was seated as President of the Board and called for nominations for the office of Vice-President.


Mr. Walker nominated Mr. Daniels with a second from Dr. Bienvenu.   


On motion of Mr. Graham, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the nominations ceased.


By unanimous vote, Mr. Daniels was seated as Vice-President.


Mrs. Wilson appointed Mrs. Hildebrand to serve as Personnel Chairperson and Mr. Wilson to serve as Finance Chairperson.


On motion of Mr. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Graham, the Board received the Basic Financial Statements and Independent Auditor’s Report As of and for the Year Ended  June 30, 2008  (With Comparative Totals, June 30, 2007)    


On motion of Mr. Metoyer, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board received the Natchitoches Parish Student Activity Funds and Financial Report for the Year Ended June 30, 2008. 


Mr. Laborde presented a report on the timber management agreement with Louisiana Department of Forestry.


On motion of Mr. Walker, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board unanimously approved the following consent agenda items:


 1.        Adoption of Agenda.


 2.        Approval of Minutes of December 11, 2008


 3.        FINANCE ITEMS


            A.         Payment of Bills: 


B.         Out of State Travel:  


(1)        Phyllis C. Thomas, travel to Fort Lauderdale, FL, June 20-26, 2009 to attend the National Kappa Kappa Iota Convention.  No cost to the Board.

(2)        Henry Eric Smith, teacher, Lakeview High School, travel to Tulsa, Oklahoma, February 27 - March 2, 2009, to chaperone 2 students to Tulsa Welding School Senior Competition. Paid by Vocational Funds.


C.         School Bus Routes Changes:


D.         Purchase of Buses:


E.         Advertisements:     Permission to advertise for bids: 


F.         Resignations:


            (1)        Linda Franklin, paraprofessional, Natchitoches Central Annex, effective December 19, 2008.

            (2)        Brittany Dent, special education tutor, Parks Elem./Middle School, effective December 19, 2008.   

            (3)        Micah S. Nicholson, teacher and coach, Lakeview High School, effective January 16, 2009.


G.         Retirements:


            (1)        James A. Graham, teacher, Natchitoches Central Annex, effective January 1, 2009.

            (2)        Jeanette Gregory, school psychologist, central office, effective January 9, 2009.


H.         Requests for Leave:


I.          Termination:


Mr. Ralph Wilson presented the Finance, Facilities and Insurance Report.


On motion of Mr. Graham, seconded by Mr. Benefield, the Board accepted the bid of Derrick D. Matt, Jr., bid of $4,200.00 per  year  for 5 years for leasing of 256.12 acres of 16th Section Board-owned land lying north and east of Little River in Township 7 North, Range 5 West.  Mr. Matt submitted the only bid.


Mrs. Hildebrand presented the Personnel Report.


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Mr. Walker, the Board unanimously approved the following personnel items:


   1.   Approval of Personnel:      


            A.         Shannon Stroughter, special education teacher, Parks Elem./Middle School

            B.         Carla Rachal, assistant girls’ basketball coach, East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School

            C.         Teresa M. Newton, teacher, Natchitoches Central High School, replacing  Megan Karl

            D.         Carolyn Sarzoki, teacher, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School, replacing Beverly Allen


2.       A list of personnel for Provencal Elem./Jr. High School for the annual Family Literacy Night for parents on January 15, 2009.   Funded by Title I Schoolwide 751 Budget. 


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Mr. Wilson, and unanimously carried, the Board approved the following items:


    1.     The 21st Century Kids’ City teachers and courses per attached list.


    2.     The attached list of special education personnel.


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Dr. Bienvenu, that the Board hereby approve Ray Gandy as principal of Weaver Elementary School.


YEAS:    Walker, Daniels, Hildebrand, Bienvenu, Metoyer, J. Wilson and Benefield.

NAYS:     Wilson and Graham.     ABSENT:     McAlexander and Rachal.      (Carried)


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Dr. Bienvenu, and with unanimous consent, the Board approved Yolande Lewis as receptionist at the central office.


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Mr. Walker, the Board approved the following personnel for the TANF after school program at Lakeview High School:


              A.       Quintessica Telsee, homework monitor, at $7.50 per hour

              B.       Nickii Reliford, clerk for STARS monitor, at $6.55 per hour, replacing Velma Turner


            Transportation is provided by First Student at $21.22 per hour for 2 buses.  Funded by TANF Grant.


Mr. Carroll Daniels presented the Executive Report.


On motion of Dr. Bienvenu, seconded by Mr. Metoyer, and with unanimous voice vote, the Board changed the Natchitoches Central Annex name to the Frankie Ray Jackson, Sr. Technical Center.


On motion of Mr. Metoyer, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board convened into executive session to consider the request of Emily Powell to walk in graduation at Natchitoches Central High School.  


On motion of Mrs. Hildebrand, seconded by Mr. Daniels, the Board adjourned the executive session.


On motion of Mr. Daniels, seconded by Dr. Bienvenu, the Board granted permission for Emily Powell to walk in graduation contingent upon meeting all graduation requirements.


On motion of Mr. Walker, seconded by Mrs. Hildebrand, the Board adjourned.