A regular meeting of the Natchitoches Parish School Board was held on February 8, 2007, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Natchitoches Parish School Board Office, 310 Royal Street, Natchitoches, Louisiana, and upon roll call, the following members and Elwanda Murphy, Secretary-Treasurer, were present:    Cecil Walker, Carroll Daniels, Ralph Wilson, Julia Hildebrand, Millard Bienvenu, Joella Wilson, Billy Benefield, Jr., Harry Graham, Pam McAlexander and Craig Rachal.   Absent: Emile Metoyer.


The meeting was called to order by President Hildebrand, followed by an invocation by Mr. Rachal and Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Walker.


Dr. Elwanda Murphy presented the monthly Board Update.


PACE Program reports were presented by Principal David Elkins of Natchitoches Central High School and Principal Alvin Brossette of Parks Elem./Middle School.


The Board recognized:


1.         Parish Teachers of  the Year- Nicole Nassif, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, April Giddens, NSU Middle School and Patricia Beaudion, Natchitoches Central High School.   Each teacher received a plaque from the Board.  Other teachers recognized were: Cammie Khoury, East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School, Jackie Campbell, Fairview Alpha Elem./Jr. High School, Sue Rodriquez, NSU Elementary School, Robert Carnline, Natchitoches Magnet School, Mattie Demars, Cloutierville Elem/Jr. High School and Bryant Gandy, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School.


2.         Karen Perkins and Linda Lee for National Board Certified Teachers


3.         Parish Students for the Year-Chelsea Rachal, Parks Elem./Jr. High School, Justin Lane Martin, Goldonna Elem./Jr. High School and Joshua David Potts, Lakeview High School.   The parish winners each received a plaque.


4.         Shawn Westbrook for Region 7 LACUE Administrator of the Year.


5.         NRA Youth Wildlife Art Contest Winners- Aletha Edwards, First Place, Alisha Lee and Maria Martinez for Honorable Mention, Natchitoches Central High School.


            6.         Destinee Roberson, State Student Winner for NSU Space Science Group's Poetry Contest.


By joint resolution, the Board adopted the attached resolution


On motion of Mrs. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Wilson and with unanimous voice vote, the Board approved the following consent agenda items:


1.         Adoption of Agenda.

            2.         Approval of Minutes of January 18, 2007

            3.         FINANCE ITEMS:

A.        Payment of Bills:                

B.         Out of State Travel:  

(1)        Cynthia Winston, Debra Gant, Kathy Dollar, Diana Laroux and Mary Montgomery, travel to San Diego, California, on April 21-26, 2007 to attend LRP's 28th National Institute.  Funded  by IDEA.  

                        C.        School Bus Routes Changes: 

(1)        Patrice Parker, Natchitoches Central High School, increase of 1.4 miles, cost of $600.49.

(2)        Patrice Parker, Natchitoches Central High School, increase of 2.5 miles, cost of $813.40.

D.        Purchase of Buses:

                        E.         Advertisements:    Permission to advertise for bids:

(1)        Permission to advertise for bids for a new forklift for use by the Maintenance Department and Child Nutrition Program.  Cost to be paid 50% by general fund and 50% by Child Nutrition.

(2)        Permission to advertise for bids (after investigation) for replacement of roof at the  Natchitoches Magnet School.

(3)        Permission to advertise for roof repairs (after investigation) at Goldonna Elem./Jr. High School.          

                        F.         Resignations:

(1)        Wendy Ballard, teacher, Parks Elem./Jr. High School, effective January 19, 2007.

(2)        Deborah Cochran, lunchroom technician, Marthaville Elem./Jr. High School, effective January 31, 2007.

(3)        Marilyn Osborn, teacher, Parks Elem./Middle School, effective January 31, 2007.

(4)        Treymain Madison, special education paraprofessional, Natchitoches Central Annex, effective January 31, 2007.

(5)        Sandra P. Baptiste, paraprofessional, Vaughn Elem./Middle School, effective February 15, 2007.

(6)        Brenda James, teacher, Natchitoches Central High School, effective January 5, 2007.

G.        Retirements:

(1)        Eula Grey, lunchroom technician, Parks  Elem./Middle School, effective September 25, 2006.

H.        Requests for Leave:

(1)        Jennifer Nelson Martin, teacher, Provencal Elem./Jr. High School, leave of absence without pay for the second semester of  2006-2007 school year.   


Mr. Billy Benefield, Jr. presented the Finance, Facilities, Services and Insurance Report.


There were no finance  items to be voted on.


Dr. Millard Bienvenu presented the Personnel Report.


On motion of Mrs. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Wilson, the Board unanimously approved the following personnel items:


    1.     Approval of Personnel:


A.        Alma Golston, special education tutor, Cloutierville Elem./Jr. High School, at $7.50 per hour not to exceed 35 hours per week.

B.        Cynthia Chavez, teacher, L.P. Vaughn Elem./Middle School, replacing Felicia Martin.   

C.        Brenda Carr, tutor, Team Time, Marthaville Elem./Jr. High, at $6.00 per hour for 1 hour per day for 5 days per week.  Funded by Title I School-Wide Budget #746.     

D.        Whitney Raphiel, tutor, at $6.00 per hour for 2.5 hours per day for 2 days per week for Community Education Classes for Adults at East Natchitoches.  Funded by 21 Century.

E.         Alan Jackson, Jr., Title I  tutor, Parks Elem./Middle School, at $7.50 per hour for 35 hours per week.  Funded by Title I School Improvement Budget.

F.         Charles Ray Jackson, Sr., 9 month custodian, Parks Elem./Middle School, replacing Patrick Sweet.  


2.         Transfers and/or reassignments:


A.        Angela Mayeaux, special education preschool teacher, from Weaver Elementary to L.P. Vaughn Elem./Jr. High School.

B.        Elizabeth Barnes, special education preschool teacher, from L.P. Vaughn Elem./Jr. High School  to Weaver Elementary School, replacing Angela Mayeaux.

C.        Paula Ammons, from infant/toddler teacher to preschool teacher, L. P. Vaughn Elem./Jr. High School, replacing Elizabeth Barnes.

D.        Sherika Wallace, special education paraprofessional, from East Natchitoches Elem./Middle School to Marthaville Elem./Jr. High School.


3.         Substitutes for 21st Century Community Learning Center for Spring Session.  Funded by 21st Century.


A.        Lakaeisha Willis @ $7.50 per hour (not to exceed 5 hours per  week)

            B.         Corey Crump @ $7.50 per hour

            C.        Theresa Roque @$7.50 per hour (not to exceed 5 hours per week)

D.        Amy Fisher @ $20.00 per hour  

E.         Renee Hill @ $20.00 per hour


 4.        Mary M. Stehr as the Planning Grant Coordinator for the School-Based Health Center to be funded by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 


Mrs. Joella Wilson presented the Executive Reports.


There were no items voted on under the Executive Report.


On motion of Mr. Benefield, seconded by Mrs. McAlexander, the Board adjourned.